increasing NEAT: the work commute

I learned to ride a bike in 2013. I didn’t realise that it would involve so many instances of face-planting on cement, but I eventually got the hang of it. I even got around to commuting to/from work via bike.

my baby

Cycling was a huge upgrade for me. Not only for fitnessing, but also because it relieved me of riding the worst bus line in Seattle: the notorious 358.

courtesy of reddit

minor exaggeration

Check out the Yelp reviews if you don’t believe me.

I got some fresh air, renewed my faith in humanity, and gained thighs of steel. What more could a person want? Unfortunately, all good things come to an end. Before the first snow of 2013, I had an epic fight with a big hill and the pavement won. Big time. Had I not had the quick reflexes to tilt my head during the fall, I’d be first in line for reconstructive face surgery right now.

Still, I look forward to getting back to cycling when spring comes and I’m less likely to kill myself on two wheels. In the meanwhile, since I’ve lost this easy bump to my daily activity levels, I have to find a suitable replacement.

Let me know what you think

