summer heat solutions

It has been ungodly hot this summer. On the one hand, heat and humidity is good for suppressing appetite. On the other hand, it also makes you sticky and grumpy.

I have a few favorite ways of dealing with the heat that doesn’t revolve around me crying and giving into buying an air conditioner. That’s for wussies. When I was younger, I did silly things like hiding in libraries or going to the malls to bask in their cool area. It gets a little awkward when you don’t buy things. As much as I like mooching, my goal in life is to avoid becoming Mr. Panera. Mr. Panera was a stocky older man who would bring in his big ass MAC computer and settle into a booth. For 8+ hours, he would play World of Warcraft and sip on sugary lattes. I once had to “work from home” and our wifi wasn’t working, so I had to share shitty internet with him at Panera. For some reason, I visited that cafe quite frequently that summer and always noticed him in his corner. At any time of day. Alone. I guess, at least he wasn’t sweating.

Three things that make me feel like I’m not a sweaty mammoth:

rosewater

cheap and effective!

so luxurious!

so luxurious!

 

 

kid tested, mother approved

kid tested, mother approved

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. Rosewater spray. Ignore the hippy shit on the side of the bottle. It’s a great product for a little extra hydration if you layer it under your moisturizer. In the summer, I like to give my face a few spritz of this and get next to a fan. INSTANT SATISFACTION. F-U heat! Bonus: this stuff is cheap as chips (~$6) as opposed to Avene thermal water ($18) or the Evian Mineral Water Bullshit spray ($17.50).

2. Face masks. There is nothing more sumptuous than relaxing with a glass of wine and a nice, rich face mask. Sure, you’ll scare all the children and animals, but it’s 30 minutes of bliss. Also, your skin will thank you when it’s over. I wish they made body wraps for at-home use. You can find these at HMart or on Amazon for about $15 (box of 10).

3. Baby Wipes. Sweat comingling with dead skin is a disgusting combination. Even if you shower multiple times a day, in the thick of the worst humidity, it’s nice to wipe down strategic areas with baby wipes.

Let me know what you think

